I Wish Someone Would’ve Told Me This, Too.

Am I the Only One?

I’m totally guilty of thinking all too often that I’m the only one.

The only one who’s taken years to eek out something that may benefit someone else. The only one who makes crazy mistakes. The only one who takes such a long time to start writing on a blog. The only one who has creative block for far too long and after what seems like hours or days or, uh, weeks of drawing and considering and thinking … and drawing, an idea finally begins to take shape; it brings a tear to my eye.

It rocks.

Then, doubt. Am I’m the only one who thinks so? Am I the only one whose client comes back with, “No, that’s not it. I said block letters, bigger, out to the edge, and make ’em red, and the background yellow!”

Geesh.

Everybody goes through it.

It takes a long time. A lot of work. Loads of work. Scheduling. Tenacity. Whether writing, designing, composing, creating, painting, or working with 50# of clay.

Working in front of a computer day in, day out tends to shrink my world. So I need to constantly keep this in mind to fight the “Am I the Only One” syndrome.

Ira Glass says it far more powerfully than I…

Do you get stuck feeling like you’re the only one? How do you cope with it?

About Garry Stafford

My name’s Garry Stafford and I write about a variety of things at Innovative Savings. I love sharing stories. I've been inspired by conversations both online and off by the exploration here of the pain and joy of life. I try more these days to be okay with my own … the good, the bad and the ugly. I work during the day at a local high school. I love biking, playing guitar and writing. And I'm a single dad of two great kids, a son who's 18 and a daughter who's 9. View all posts by Garry Stafford

Leave a Reply

